The National Society of Film Critics Honors Parasite and Little Women!

Yesterday, the National Society of Film Critics announced their picks for the best of 2019!

Now, it’s not really a surprise that Parasite won best picture because Parasite has been popular with the critic groups this season.  For me, what’s more significant is just how well Little Women did, coming in second for Best Picture and winning Best Director for Greta Gerwig.  Could this be evidence of a late surge in momentum for Little Women?  Or is it just of one those quirks of the awards season?  There’s always a tendency to read too much into the results of these contests, especially when the guilds are usually the best precursor to go with.

Anyway, here are the NSFC winners!

2019 NSFC Winners:

Best Picture: PARASITE (44 points)
Runners-up: LITTLE WOMEN (27 points); ONCE UPON A TIME… IN HOLLYWOOD (22 points)

Best Actor: Antonio Banderas, PAIN AND GLORY (69 points)
Runners-up: Adam Driver, MARRIAGE STORY (43 points); Adam Sandler, UNCUT GEMS (41 points)

Best Actress: Mary Kay Place, DIANE (40 points)
Runners-up: Zhao Tao, ASH IS PUREST WHITE (28 points) Florence Pugh, MIDSOMMAR (25 points)

Best Supporting Actor: Brad Pitt, ONCE UPON A TIME… IN HOLLYWOOD (64 points)
Runners-up: Joe Pesci, THE IRISHMAN (30 points) Wesley Snipes, DOLEMITE IS MY NAME and Song Kang Ho, PARASITE (18 points each)

Best Supporting Actress: Laura Dern, MARRIAGE STORY and LITTLE WOMEN (57 points)
Runners-up: Florence Pugh, LITTLE WOMEN (44 points) Jennifer Lopez, HUSTLERS (26 points)

Best Director: Greta Gerwig, LITTLE WOMEN (39 points)
Runners-up: Bong Joon Ho, PARASITE (36 points); Martin Scorsese, THE IRISHMAN (31 points)

Best Screenplay: Bong Joon Ho and Han Jin Won, PARASITE (37 points)
Runners-up: Quentin Tarantino, ONCE UPON A TIME… IN HOLLYWOOD (34 points); Greta Gerwig, LITTLE WOMEN (33 points)

Best Cinematography: Claire Mathon, PORTRAIT OF A LADY ON FIRE and ATLANTICS (41 points)
Runners-up: Robert Richardson, ONCE UPON A TIME… IN HOLLYWOOD (29 points); Yorick Le Saux, LITTLE WOMEN (22 points)

The National Society Of Film Critics Honors Goodbye to Language!

Goodbye to Lanugage

Earlier today, the National Society of Film Critics announced their picks for the best films of 2014!  By one vote, they named Jean-Luc Godard’s Goodbye To Language as best picture of the year.

Thank you, National Society of Film Critics, for reminding us that, occasionally, unexpected things do happen!

Check out the winners and the runner-ups below!

*1. Goodbye to Language 25 (Jean-Luc Godard)
2. Boyhood 24 (Richard Linklater)
3. Birdman 10 (Alejandro G. Iñárritu)
3. Mr. Turner 10 (Mike Leigh)
*1. Richard Linklater 36 (Boyhood)
2. Jean-Luc Godard 17  (Goodbye to Language)
3. Mike Leigh 12 (Mr. Turner)
*1. Citizenfour 56 (Laura Poitras)
2. National Gallery 19 (Frederick Wiseman)
3. The Overnighters 17 (Jesse Moss)
*1. The Grand Budapest Hotel 24 (Wes Anderson)
2. Inherent Vice 15 (Paul Thomas Anderson)
2. Birdman 15 (four co-writers)
*1. Mr. Turner 33 (Dick Pope)
2. The Immigrant 27 (Darius Khondji)
3. Goodbye to Language 9 (Fabrice Aragno)
*1.Timothy Spall 31 (Mr. Turner)
2. Tom Hardy 10 (Locke)
3. Joaquin Phoenix 9  (Inherent Vice)
3. Ralph Fiennes 9 (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
*1. Marion Cotillard  80 (Two Days, One Night)
2.  Julianne Moore 35 (Still Alice)
3. Scarlett Johansson 21 (Lucy; Under the Skin)
*1. J.K. Simmons 24  (Whiplash)
2. Mark Ruffalo 21 (Foxcatcher)
3. Edward Norton 16 (Birdman)
*1. Patricia Arquette 26 (Boyhood)
2. Agata Kulesza 18 (Ida)
3. Rene Russo 9 (Nightcrawler)

The National Society of Film Critics Honors Inside Llewyn Davis

The National Society of Film Critics announced their picks for the best films and performances of 2013 earlier today and the awards were dominated by Inside Llewyn Davis.  Also of note: James Franco won best supporting actor for his brilliant and underrated turn in Spring Breakers.

Here’s a complete list of the winners and runners-up:

Picture: “Inside Llewyn Davis” (23 votes)
Runners-up: “American Hustle” (17); “12 Years a Slave” (16); “Her” (16)

Director: Joel and Ethan Coen, “Inside Llewyn Davis” (25)
Runners-up: Alfonso Cuaron, “Gravity” (18); Steve McQueen, “12 Years a Slave” (15)

Actor: Oscar Isaac, “Inside Llewyn Davis” (28)
Runners-up: Chiwetel Ejiofor, “12 Years a Slave” (19); Robert Redford, “All Is Lost” (12)

Actress: Cate Blanchett, “Blue Jasmine” (57)
Runners-up: Adele Exarchopoulos, “Blue Is the Warmest Color” (36); Julie Delpy, “Before Midnight” (26)

Supporting actor: James Franco, “Spring Breakers” (24)
Runners-up: Jared Leto, “Dallas Buyers Club” (20); Barkhad Abdi, “Captain Phillips” (14)

Supporting actress: Jennifer Lawrence, “American Hustle” (54)
Runners-up: Lupita Nyong’o, “12 Years a Slave” (38); Sally Hawkins, “Blue Jasmine” (18); Lea Seydoux, “Blue Is the Warmest Color” (18)

Screenplay: Richard Linklater, Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy, “Before Midnight” (29)
Joel and Ethan Coen, “Inside Llewyn Davis” (26); Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell, “American Hustle” (18)

Foreign-language film: “Blue Is the Warmest Color” (27)
Runners-up: “A Touch of Sin” (21); “The Great Beauty” (15)

Nonfiction: “The Act of Killing” and “At Berkeley” (tie, 20)
Runner-up: “Leviathan” (18)

Cinematography: Bruno Delbonnel, “Inside Llewyn Davis” (28)
Runners-up: Emmanuel Lubezki, “Gravity” (26); Phedon Papamichael, “Nebraska” (17)

Film Still Awaiting U.S. Distribution: “Stray Dogs” and “Hide Your Smiling Faces”

Film Heritage:
“Too Much Johnson”
“American Treasures From the New Zealand Film Archive”
“Allan Dwan and the Rise and Decline of the Hollywood Studios”
“The Hitchcock 9″