Here Are the 2021 Nominations of the Hollywood Critics Association!

The Hollywood Critics Association has announced their nominations for the best of 2021!  Fortunately, the winners won’t be announced until January so you’ve got a lot of time to see all of the nominees!

Best Picture
Being the Ricardos
King Richard
Last Night In Soho
Licorice Pizza
The Power of The Dog
Tick, Tick…Boom!

Best Actor
Andrew Garfield – Tick, Tick…Boom!
Benedict Cumberbatch – The Power of The Dog
Nicolas Cage – Pig
Peter Dinklage – Cyrano
Will Smith – King Richard

Best Actress
Emilia Jones – CODA
Jessica Chastain – The Eyes of Tammy Faye
Kristen Stewart – Spencer
Lady Gaga – House of Gucci
Nicole Kidman – Being the Ricardos

Best Supporting Actor
Ciarán Hinds – Belfast
Jamie Dornan – Belfast
Jason Isaacs – Mass
Robin de Jesús – Tick, Tick…Boom!
Troy Kotsur – CODA

Best Supporting Actress
Ariana DeBose – West Side Story
Aunjanue Ellis – King Richard
Caitriona Balfe – Belfast
Marlee Matlin – CODA
Ruth Negga – Passing

Best Animated or VSX Performance
Abbi Jacobson – The Mitchells vs. The Machines
Sylvester Stallone – The Suicide Squad
Stephanie Beatriz – Encanto
Jacob Tremblay – Luca
John Leguizamo – Encanto

Best Director
Denis Villeneuve – Dune
Guillermo del Toro – Nightmare Alley
Jane Campion – The Power of The Dog
Kenneth Branagh – Belfast
Lin-Manuel Miranda – Tick, Tick…Boom!
Pablo Larraín – Spencer
Rebecca Hall – Passing
Reinaldo Marcus Green – King Richard
Siân Heder – CODA
Steven Spielberg – West Side Story

Best Original Screenplay
Aaron Sorkin – Being the Ricardos
Edgar Wright and Krysty Wilson-Cairns – Last Night In Soho
Fran Kranz – Mass
Kenneth Branagh – Belfast
Zach Baylin – King Richard

Best Adapted Screenplay
Jane Campion – The Power of The Dog
Maggie Gyllenhaal – The Lost Daughter
Rebecca Hall – Passing
Siân Heder – CODA
Steven Levenson – Tick, Tick…Boom!

Best Cast Ensemble
Don’t Look Up
King Richard
The Harder They Fall

Best First Feature
Rebecca Hall – Passing
Lin-Manuel Miranda – Tick, Tick…Boom!
Fran Kranz – Mass
Maggie Gyllenhaal – The Lost Daughter
Michael Sarnoski – Pig

Best Animated Film
The Mitchells vs. The Machines
Raya and The Last Dragon

Best International Film
A Hero
Drive My Car
The Worst Person in the World

Best Documentary
Summer of Soul
The Rescue
The Sparks Brothers

Best Indie Film
Shiva Baby

Best Comedy/Musical Film
Free Guy
In The Heights
Tick, Tick…Boom!
West Side Story

Best Action Film
No Time To Die
The Harder They Fall
The Suicide Squad
Shang-Chi And The Legend Of The Ten Rings

Best Horror Film
A Quiet Place Part II
Fear Street
Last Night In Soho
The Night House

Best Short Film
Far From The Tree
Robin Robin
Us Again

Best Cinematography 
Andrew Droz Palermo – TheGreenKnight
Ari Wegner – The Power Of The Dog
Claire Mathon – Spencer
Greig Fraser – Dune
Janusz Kamiński – West Side Story

Best Score
Alexandre Desplat – The French Dispatch
Hans Zimmer – Dune
Jonny Greenwood – Spencer
Jonny Greenwood – The Power Of The Dog
Steven Price – Last Night In Soho

Best Original Song
Be Alive sung by Beyonce from King Richard
No Time to Die sung by Billie Eilish from No Time To Die
Beyond the Shore sung by Emilia Jones from CODA
Down to Joy by Van Morrison from Belfast
Every Letter from Cyrano

Best Stunts
Black Widow
No Time To Die
Shang-Chi And The Legend Of The Ten Rings

Best Costume Design
Bob Morgan and Jacqueline West – Dune
Jacqueline Durran – Spencer
Janty Yates – House Of Gucci
Jenny Beavan – Cruella
Odile Dicks-Mireaux – Last Night In Soho

Best Production Design
Adam Stockhausen – The French Dispatch
Guy Hendrix Dyas – Spencer
Marcus Rowland – Last Night In Soho
Patrice Vermette – Dune
Tamara Deverell – Nightmare Alley

Best Hair & Makeup
Being The Ricardos
House Of Gucci
The Eyes Of Tammy Faye

Best Film Editing
Andrew Weisblum and Myron I. Kerstein – Tick, Tick…Boom!
Joe Walker – Dune
Pamela Martin – King Richard
Paul Machliss – Last Night In Soho
Úna Ní Dhonghaíle – Belfast

Best Visual Effects
Free Guy
Shang-Chi And The Legend Of The Ten Rings
The Suicide Squad

Here Are The Winners of The 2015 Hollywood Film Awards, Whatever The Hell Those Are.


Oh my God, y’all — the Hollywood Film Awards were held on Sunday and a bunch of potential Oscar contenders were honored!  Which all leads to one very important question:

What the Hell are the Hollywood Film Awards?

As I pondered that question, I realized that I had vague memories of sitting through the Hollywood Film Awards last year.  The ceremony was broadcast on CBS and it was distinguished from other awards shows in that there were no nominees.  Instead, only the winners were announced.  It was so amazingly dull and I can remember watching it and thinking, “Awards season has finally jumped the shark.”

(And this was even before Sasha Stone and Jeff Wells had their annual breakdowns…)

Anyway, the Hollywood Film Awards for 2015 were given out on Sunday and I’m assuming they weren’t televised.  (I was busy watching A Student’s Obsession anyway…)  You can find the winners below.  For the most part, it’s a pretty boring list (and why give out awards in November?) but it does allow us an early glimpse into some of the films and performers that are contending for Oscar gold.

Here’s the list.  Along with a gif of a kitty showing just how excited he is over Awards Season…



Career Achievement Award presented to Robert De Niro by David O. Russell.

Producer Award presented to Ridley Scott (“The Martian) by Russell Crowe.

Director Award presented to Tom Hooper (“The Danish Girl”) by Amber Heard.

Actor Award presented to Will Smith (“Concussion”) by Jamie Foxx.

Actress Award presented to Carey Mulligan (“Suffragette”) by Jake Gyllenhaal.

Supporting Actor Award presented to Benicio Del Toro (“Sicario”) by Reese Witherspoon.

Supporting Actress Award presented to Jane Fonda (“Youth”) by Laura Dern.

Breakout Actor Award presented to Joel Edgerton (“Black Mass”) by Johnny Depp, Dakota Johnson.

Breakout Actress Award presented to Alicia Vikander (“The Danish Girl”) by Armie Hammer.

New Hollywood Award presented to Saoirse Ronan (“Brooklyn”) by Ryan Gosling.

Ensemble Award presented to “The Hateful Eight” by Quentin Tarantino.

Breakout Ensemble Award presented to “Straight Outta Compton” by Ice Cube.

Comedy Award presented to Amy Schumer (“Trainwreck”) by Selena Gomez.

Breakthrough Director Award presented to Adam McKay (“The Big Short”) by Steve Carell.

Screenwriter Award presented to Tom McCarthy, Josh Singer (“Spotlight”) by Mark Ruffalo.

Blockbuster Award presented to “Furious 7” by Kurt Russell.

Song Award presented to “Furious 7” (“See You Again”) by Vin Diesel.

Animation Award presented to Pete Docter (“Inside Out”) by Amy Poehler.

Cinematography Award presented to Janusz Kaminski (“Bridge of Spies”).

Composer Award presented to Alexandre Desplat (“The Danish Girl,” “Suffragette”).

Documentary Award presented to Asif Kapadia (“Amy”).

Editor Award presented to David Rosenbloom (“Black Mass”).

Visual Effects Award presented to Tim Alexander (“Jurassic World”).

Sound Award presented to Gary Rydstrom (“Bridge of Spies”).

Costume Design Award presented to Sandy Powell (“Cinderella”).

Make-Up and Hair Styling Award presented to Lesley Vanderwalt (“Mad Max: Fury Road”).

Production Design Award presented to Colin Gibson (“Mad Max: Fury Road“).

"Yawn. These awards are boring..."

“Yawn. These awards are predictable and boring.  You disappoint me…”