The Society of Composers and Lyricists Honors Soul!

Earlier today, the Society of Composers and Lyricists announced their picks for the best of 2020!  So, for those of you looking for some musical guidance when you’re making your Oscar predictions, here you go:

Outstanding Original Score for a Studio Film
Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross, Jon Batiste – Soul (WINNER)
James Newton Howard – News of the World
Ludwig Göransson – Tenet
Terence Blanchard – Da 5 Bloods
Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross – Mank

Outstanding Original Score for an Independent Film
Lolita Ritmanis – Blizzard of Souls (Dvēseļu Putenis) (WINNER)
Emile Mosseri – Minari
Sherry Chung – The Lost Husband
Steven Price – David Attenborough: A Life on Our Planet
Tamar-Kali Brown – Shirley

Outstanding Original Score for Television or Streaming Production
Carlos Rafael Rivera – The Queen’s Gambit (WINNER)
Blake Neely – The Flight Attendant
Laura Karpman, Raphael Saadiq – Lovecraft Country
Ludwig Göransson – Star Wars: The Mandalorian
Martin Phipps – The Crown

Outstanding Original Song for Visual Media
Savan Kotecha, Fat Max Gsus, Rickard Göransson – “Husavik” – Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga (WINNER)
Diane Warren – “Free” – The One and Only Ivan
Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross – “(If Only You Could) Save Me” – Mank
Laura Karpman, Raphael Saadiq, Sonia Sanchez – “Tulsa, 1921: Catch The Fire” – Lovecraft Country
Erran Baron Cohen, Sasha Baron Cohen, Anthony Hines – “Wuhan Flu” Borat Subsequent Moviefilm

Outstanding Original Score for Interactive Media
Garry Schyman, Mikolai Stroinski – Metamorphosis (WINNER)
Gordy Haab – Star Wars: Squadrons
Ilan Eshkeri, Shigeru Umebayashi – Ghost of Tsushima

One response to “The Society of Composers and Lyricists Honors Soul!

  1. Pingback: Lisa Marie’s Week In Reivew: 3/1/21 — 3/7/21 | Through the Shattered Lens

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.