Spider-Man Shows Up In The Nominations of the Denver Film Critics Society

Yesterday, the Denver Film Critics Society announced their nominations for the best of 2021 and it led to the first awards season appearance of Spider-Man: No Way Home.  There’s a lot of speculation about whether or not the Academy is going to nominate Spider-Man this year in an attempt to avoid repeating the ratings catastrophe of last year’s ceremony.  

The winners in Denver will be announced on January 17th!  Here are the nominees:

Best Picture
Drive My Car
The Power of the Dog
Spider-Man: No Way Home

Best Director
Kenneth Branagh – Belfast
Jane Campion – The Power of the Dog
Joel Coen – The Tragedy Of Macbeth
Ryusuke Hamaguchi – Drive My Car
Denis Villeneuve – Dune

Best Actress
Jessica Chastain – The Eyes Of Tammy Faye
Lady Gaga – House Of Gucci
Alana Haim – Licorice Pizza
Nicole Kidman – Being The Ricardos
Kristen Stewart – Spencer

Best Actor
Nicolas Cage – Pig
Benedict Cumberbatch – The Power of the Dog
Peter Dinklage – Cyrano
Will Smith – King Richard
Denzel Washington – The Tragedy Of Macbeth

Best Supporting Actress
Cate Blanchett – Nightmare Alley
Ariana DeBose – West Side Story
Kirsten Dunst – The Power of the Dog
Aunjanue Ellis – King Richard
Ruth Negga – Passing

Best Supporting Actor
Ben Affleck – The Tender Bar
Ciaran Hinds – Belfast
Troy Kotsur – CODA
J.K. Simmons – Being The Ricardos
Kodi Smit-McPhee – The Power of the Dog

Best Sci-Fi/Horror
The Green Knight
Last Night In Soho
A Quiet Place Part II
Spider-Man: No Way Home

Best Animated Film
The Mitchells vs. The Machines
Raya And The Last Dragon

Best Comedy
Barb & Star Go To Vista Del Mar
Don’t Look Up
Free Guy
The French Dispatch
The Suicide Squad

Best Visual FX
Godzilla vs. Kong
The Green Knight
Shang-Chi And The Legend Of The Ten Rings
Spider-Man: No Way Home

Best Original Screenplay
Zach Baylin – King Richard
Kenneth Branagh – Belfast
Mike Mills – C’mon C’mon
Michael Sarnoski – Pig
Paul Thomas Anderson – Licorice Pizza

Best Adapted Screenplay
Jane Campion – The Power of the Dog
Joel Coen – The Tragedy Of Macbeth
​Ryusuke Hamaguchi – Drive My Car
Sian Heder – CODA
Jon Spaihts, Eric Roth & Denis Villeneuve – Dune

Best Documentary
The First Wave
Summer Of Soul
The Velvet Underground

Best Original Song
“Be Alive” – King Richard
“Dos Oruguitas” – Encanto
“Guns Go Bang” – The Harder They Fall
“Just Look Up” – Don’t Look Up
“No Time To Die” – No Time To Die

Best Score
Germaine Franco – Encanto
Jonny Greenwood – The Power of the Dog
Jonny Greenwood – Spencer
Jeymes Samuel – The Harder They Fall
Hans Zimmer – Dune

Best Foreign Language Film
Drive My Car
A Hero
Petite Maman
The Worst Person In The World

One response to “Spider-Man Shows Up In The Nominations of the Denver Film Critics Society

  1. Pingback: Lisa Marie’s Week In Review: 1/10/22 — 1/16/22 | Through the Shattered Lens

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.