Here Are The 2021 Nominations of the Alliance of Women Film Journalists!

The Alliance of Women Film Journalists announced their nominees for the best of 2021 earlier today.  While they nominated some familiar films, it is nice to see that someone is finally showing Passing some love.

Here are the nominations:

Best Film
“Licorice Pizza”
“The Lost Daughter”
“The Power Of The Dog”

Best Director
Paul Thomas Anderson – “Licorice Pizza”
Kenneth Branagh – “Belfast”
Jane Campion – “The Power Of The Dog”
Maggie Gyllenhaal- “The Lost Daughter”
Rebecca Hall – “Passing”

Best Actress
Jessica Chastain – “The Eyes Of Tammy Faye”
Olivia Colman – “The Lost Daughter”
Lady Gaga – “House Of Gucci”
Kristen Stewart – “Spencer”
Tessa Thompson – “Passing”

Best Actress In A Supporting Role
Jessie Buckley  – “The Lost Daughter”
Ann Dowd – “Mass”
Kirsten Dunst – “The Power Of The Dog”
Aunjanue Ellis – “King Richard”
Ruth Negga – “Passing”

Best Actor
Benedict Cumberbatch – “The Power Of The Dog”
Peter Dinklage – “Cyrano”
Andrew Garfield – “Tick, Tick…boom!”
Will Smith – “King Richard”
Denzel Washington – “The Tragedy Of Macbeth”

Best Actor In A Supporting Role
Jamie Dornan – “Belfast”
Troy Kostur – “CODA”
Ciaran Hinds – “Belfast”
Jesse Plemons – “The Power Of The Dog”
Kodi Smit-McPhee – “The Power Of The Dog”

Best Screenplay, Original
“Being The Ricardos” – Aaron Sorkin
“Belfast” – Kenneth Branagh
“Don’t Look Up” – Adam Mckay
“Licorice Pizza” – Paul Thomas Anderson
“Mass” – Fran Kranz

Best Screenplay, Adapted
“CODA” – Sian Heder
“Dune” – Jon Spaihts, Denis Villeneuve, Eric Roth
“The Lost Daughter” – Maggie Gyllenhaal
“Passing” – Rebecca Hall
“The Power Of The Dog” – Jane Campion

Best Documentary
“Summer Of Soul”

Best Animated Film
“The Mitchells Vs The Machines”
“Raya And The Last Dragon”

Best Ensemble Cast – Casting Director
“Belfast” – Lucy Bevan, Emily Brockmann
“The French Dispatch” – Douglas Aibel, Antoinette Boulat
“The Harder They Fall” – Victoria Thomas
“King Richard” – Rich Delia, Avy Kaufman
“The Power Of The Dog” – Nikki Barrett, Tina Cleary, Carmen Cuba, Nina Gold

Best Cinematography
“Belfast” – Haris Zambarloukos
“Dune” – Greig Fraser
“Passing” – Eduard Grau
“The Power Of The Dog” – Ari Wegner
“The Tragedy Of Macbeth” – Bruno Delbonnel

Best Editing
“Belfast” – Una Ni Dhonghalle
“Don’t Look Up” – Hank Corwin
“Dune” – Joe Walker
“The Power Of The Dog” – Peter Sciberras
“West Side Story” – Sarah Broshar, Michael Kahn

Best Non-English-language Film
“Drive My Car”
“A Hero”
“I’m Your Man”

EDA Female Focus Awards

Best Woman Director
Jane Campion – “The Power Of The Dog”
Julia Ducournau – “Titane”
Maggie Gyllenhall – “The Lost Daughter”
Rebecca Hall – “Passing”
Sian Heder – “CODA”

Best Woman Screenwriter
Jane Campion – “The Power Of The Dog”
Maggie Gyllenhaal – “The Lost Daughter”
Rebecca Hall – “Passing”
Sian Heder – “CODA”
Maria Schrader – “I’m Your Man”

Best Animated Female
Mirabel, Stephanie Beatriz – “Encanto”
Katie, Abbi Jacobsen – “The Mitchells Vs The Machines”
Raya, Kelly Marie Tran – “Raya And The Last Dragon”
Giulia, Emma Berman – “Luca”
Sisu, Awkwafina – “Raya And The Last Dragon”

Best Woman’s Breakthrough Performance
Ariana Debose -“West Side Story”
Alana Haim – “Licorice Pizza”
Emilia Jones –  “CODA”
Renate Reinsve – “The Worst Person In The World”
Rachel Zegler – “West Side Story”

Outstanding Achievement By A Woman In The Film Industry
Victoria Alonzo For Her Achievements At Marvel Studios
Maya Cade For Establishing The Black Film Archive
Anna Serner For 20 Years Of Female-forward Work At The Swedish Film Institute

EDA Special Mention Awards

Grand Dame Award For Defying Ageism
Dame Judi Dench
Ms. Rita Moreno
Dame Diana Rigg

Most Egregious Lovers’ Age Difference Award
“The Many Saints Of Newark” –  Ray Liotta and Michela Derossi (38 Years)
“Red Rocket” – Simon Rex and Suzanna Son (21 Years)
“The Hitman’s Wife’s Bodyguard” – Salma Hayek and Samuel L. Jackson (21 Years)
“Nightmare Alley” – David Strathairn and Toni Collette (22 Years)
“Licorice Pizza” Alana Haim and Cooper Hoffman (10 Years)

She Deserves A New Agent Award
Amy Adams – “The Woman In The Window” and “Dear Evan Hansen”
Melissa Mccarthy – “The Starling”
Chloe Grace Moretz – “Tom And Jerry”

Most Daring Performance Award
Sandra Bullock – “The Unforgivable”
Olivia Colman – “The Lost Daughter”
Ruth Negga – “Passing”
Renate Reinsve – “The Worst Person In The World”
Agatha Rouselle –  “Titane”

Time Waster Remake or Sequel Award
“The Boss Baby: The Family Business”
“Ghostbusters: Afterlife”
“Space Jam: A New Legacy”
“Tom And Jerry”